Organization Structure

The North Bengal Development Department has been created vide Notification No.198-Home(Cons)/R2R(CONS)-5/2011 dated 11-07-2011. It aims at promotion of Social, economic and Cultural advancement of people residing in the six districts of North Bengal viz. Darjeeling, Jalpaiguri, Cooch Behar, Uttar Dinajpur, Dakshin Dinajpur and Malda.

It coordinates all matters related with infrastructural facilities through improvement of rural communication, water resources, and preservation of ecological balance, socio-economic and allied development programmes, research, training and technology in the areas covered by the Uttar Banga Unnayan Parshad.

It keeps close liaison with all Central and state Govt. departments for execution of plans for the development of the areas under the Uttar Banga Unnayan Parshad.

It can participate in international conferences, associations and other bodies and implementation of decisions, so far as department is concerned.

It can enter into treaties and agreement with foreign countries, especially for receiving financial aid for development of backward sectors of the districts of north Bengal and implementation of treaties, agreements and conventions with foreign countries, so far as the department is concerned.

              Link to India Government                                Link to India Government                                Link to India Government                         Link to India Government